Occupational Tax Licensing

Pursuant to Morgan County Code of Ordinances, §66-29 regarding Occupation Tax, each person engaged in any business, trade, profession, or occupation in the unincorporated areas of Morgan County, Georgia, shall pay an occupation tax for said business, trade, profession, or occupation.

New Application- Occupational Tax Application may be downloaded. The complete forms and payment must be submitted in person with photo ID of applicant.

Renewal Application- Occupational Tax Applicationmay be downloaded. The complete forms (notarized) and payment may be mailed to our office (with no changes of applicant or owner) to:

Morgan County Planning & Development
PO Box 1357
150 E Washington Street
Madison, Georgia 30650

The occupational tax fee is based on the following:

  • $40 Administrative fee
  • $10 for each owner and each employee.

Applications for a new business or a renewal must be filled out completely. We will need all information, including state and federal identification numbers to issue a business license. All business licenses in Morgan County will expire on December 31st of the year they were issued.

Renewal notifications are issued prior to expiration, and the renewal deadline is January 31st of the following year. A 12% penalty will be assessed on a license not renewed prior to January 31st. Please make checks payable to Morgan County. Payment by credit card is not accepted.

Valid photo ID is required for all new APPLICANTS.

For State License Number:

Secretary of State
214 State Capital
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone: (404) 656-2881
Fax: (404) 656-0513

For State Sales & Use Tax Number:

Department of Revenue
1800 Century Boulevard NE
Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone: (877) 423-6711

For Federal Tax ID Number:

Internal Revenue Service
Phone: (800) 829-4933